Howdy!! Log In Register A New Profile Link Exchange Image Resize Terms of service Extras

Re: Need some advice about Coles Hill and Spillman

DIV Frequently Asked Questions

DIV Photo Gallery
DIV Checklist

Diggin' In Virginia XLVI
November 4th - 6th, 2019
Diggin' In Virginia XLVII
November 7th - 9th

Participant List

Release Form

Participant List

Release Form

Please use the other forums on the Spot for non-DIV related post.
Diggin' in Virginia is in NO WAY affiliated with any other "organized" hunts.
We DO NOT have any contact information for any principals of any other "organized" relic hunts.
PLEASE DO NOT email or call us for information on hunts other than DIV!

Need some advice about Coles Hill and Spillman
June 29, 2019 07:32PM
I’m a DIV newbie, I’ve just gone to Fair Oaks so far. I have an Equinox 600 and did pretty well there for never hunted for Civil War relics before. I found five different types of bullets, the base of a Parott shell, a couple of old horseshoes and a rivet. I know that ideally I should have a PI machine but that’s just not in my budget. I don’t know how many times these sites have been hunted before and therefore what my odds are for finding shallower targets that I could find with my Equinox. I’m sure there are a ton of deeper targets at these locations but not sure I’d find them with my machine. Should I wait for a future DIV to a new site with a better chance of finding shallower targets or sign up now? I’m itching to try to find my first Civil War button or any other relics that I haven’t found yet. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
July 02, 2019 08:42PM
Yes, I am favorable toward Spillman... a fused 12-pounder will do that to you.

Re: Need some advice about Coles Hill and Spillman (n/t)
July 02, 2019 08:39PM
This message does not contain any text.
Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/02/2019 08:44PM by Scaper.
July 01, 2019 12:07PM